The Meaning of Freedom

According to Merriam-Webster, “freedom” has ten definitions including:

“the absence of necessity, coercion, or constraint in choice or action”

“the quality of being frank, open or outspoke”

“unrestricted use”

“a political right”

“libreation from slavery or restraint or from the power of another”

Freedom Quote

However, these are all technical definiitions. In reality, the word “freedom” evokes unique emotions for each of us. To me, freedom means:

 

Dancing without rhythm at parties with my friends

Blasting my lungs out to country karaoke

Trying and failing at random hobbies

Accepting a diploma at my graduation ceremony

❤ ❤
Traveling abroad through the wonders of Asia

Learning new skills as a Panera Bread cook

Giggling out loud when my sisters kid around

Posting silly pictures on Instagram and Facebook

❤ ❤
Voting in my first presidential election

Driving my brand new blue Hyundai sedan

Having friends from all backgrounds

Pursuing my dreams in medicine even as a woman

  • ❤ ❤
    Living safely in a home with my supportive parents

Taking pride in all the strengths I possess

Opening up about my AN struggles

Sharing my story by blogging on WordPress

 

What does freedom mean to you? Where do you feel free – at school? in nature? in front of your easel? on the soccer field? Please share!

Until next time,

❤ P&P

Leave a Reply

