June 2016 in Review

June in Review

Started a blog

I have never been too savy with social media. In the past, I rarely posted on Facebook or Instagram and the only pictures I had were of my photos I was tagged in my others. Branching out and starting a blog was something I was (and partially still am) terrified of. I finally realized there were many reasons I wanted to start blogging, so I did it! Thank you to everyone who has followed me this past month. Here is to many more!

Smelling the Flowers

Bought a car

Purchasing a car, my own car, was by far the largest purchase I have EVER made. It was a roller coaster of an afternoon, and you can read more about the stages of buying my car. Maybe you had a similar experience.

I am officially in debt but I least I got some sweet wheels! But in all seriousness, I took a large step into the real world and am loving it.

New Car

Started as a Medical Scribe at the UCI Medical Center ENT Clinic

A few months ago, I started as a medical scribe in the ER at UCI Medical Center. It was a huge step down the road to my dream career in the medical field. This month, I was also given the opportunity to work as a scribe in the ENT clinic and couple times a week. The two environments give me two unique perspectives on healthcare. I sure have learned more than I ever thought I would know about ears. If I can offer one piece of advice, stop using Q-tips in your ear canal! I stopped this month and it was not the easy habit to break.

Screen Shot 2016-07-01 at 4.18.20 PM

Went on my first hike in Southern California

On a one rare day off from work, my mom, sister and I went on a lovely hike in Orange County. I am not the outdoorsy type, but I can’t believe what I have been missing. My sister (now AKA “scout”) led the way down the trail and ensured we didn’t get lost on our way back. Find out the 11 items I realized are a necessity when hiking.

Cactus.jpg

Celebrated my 22nd Birthday by getting my first legal drink in the US

The best day of the entire year occured this month on June 22nd — my birthday!!! Since I was abroad in Malaysia last year for my 21st birthday, my friends joined me for dinner and drinks to act like I was turning 21 instead of 22 in 2016. We went out for Mexican food (fyi, if you don’t know me, I am addicted to tacos and burritos!) and margaritas. My margarita vocabulary is very minimal so I embarrassed myself a few times looking at the drink menu. I would have to say my favorite was the Pop-Rocks margarita. It was like fireworks in a cup!

13418968_909060605883899_8877627928209228852_n

Tried southern food at The Attic

For my 22nd birthday, my boyfriend took me out to dinner at The Attic in Long Beach. I had heard great things about this trendy Southern restraurant, but I had yet to have the opportunity to try it out. Since I was little, I have been a picky eater, but while pushing myself to branch out and experience life, I figured I should do the same with food. Most of the items on the menu seemed foreign to me. Plus, I can’t handle spicy food so I was hesitant to try anything with the potential of burning my mouth. I settled on fries topped with meat and cheese — boy have I been missing out on life!! It is like a Southern version of nachos. I am looking forward to going back and trying their brunch!

The Attic

Played (and failed at) Bingo

Yes, I just said that I celebrated my 22nd birthday this month, but I also spent one Friday night in June playing Bingo at a local church with my mom and her friends. I am not ashamed to admit that I love Bingo. And this isn’t your elementary school Bingo; this is serious business!! We may not have walked away with any winnings this time, but we had lots of fun. I look forward to going back for many more Bingo nights.

Bingo.jpg

Screamed my lungs out at the SummerFest carnival

You are never too old to enjoy a good old-fashion carnival. My family and I decided to go to a local fair one evening and had so much fun! To add to the experience, I made a Summer Fair Photo Challenge printable to bring along with us. As we tried to squeeze in all the rides and games in one evening, we were able to get 15 of the 20 items on the checklist. How many can you get next time you go to the fair?

Sing like nobody is watching

 

Stay tuned to see what July has in store!

Until next time,

❤ P&P

Leave a Reply

